Comics Return to Grocery Stores

Nemo Publishing announced today a partnership with the Hannaford grocery chain to sell a special bundle pack of The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli graphic novels in the front end racks at 75 Hannaford stores all across New England.

Capt’n Eli is the son of the infamous Captain Nemo from Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea.  The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli takes readers into a mesmerizing world of time travel, high-tech ships, flying mini-subs, robots, lost civilizations, and undersea empires in conflict;accompanied by Jolly Roger, a 200-year-old parrot, and the faithful seadog Barney.

The bundle pack includes Books 1 and 2 in the series for $9.99.  Each book normally retails for $9.99 so this limited time special is buy- one-get-one-free and is offered only at Hannaford supermarkets.  Book 3 in the series is expected out in 2014.  Nowhere near New England? You can order the same buy-one-get-one-free deal atwww.captneli.com.

“A good grocery store is much more then just a place to buy food,” explains Ed Crockett, president of Capt’n Eli’s Soda.  “They have become our drugstores and, based off the necessity and frequency we visit them, they are often our newsstands. Hannaford is a forward thinking family grocer and realized that bringing in the Capt’n Eli graphic novel series was a great way to do more for their customers.”

Creator Jay Piscopo notes “The 10 year old in me is thrilled. I get to give a whole new generation of kids the same experience I enjoyed as a kid!  Open a comic and escape into a world you can only imagine. It’s magical.”  Jay is the founder of Nemo Publishing and writes and illustrates The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli series.

Nemo Publishing was an organic creation through the Forsley family, founders of Capt’n Eli’s Soda.  One man’s sense of adventure was so strong that a root beer was created in his memory, and that spark just wouldn’t stop. Capt’n Eli’s Root Beer became the Capt’n Eli’s line of sodas and then an entire graphic novel and toy line was developed through Nemo Publishing.  The story keeps growing right along with the company and continues the wide range of products and quality that Capt’n Eli’s Soda is known for.

About The Books:

The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli — Volume 1

Fans of classic adventure, meet Capt’n Eli! Created in the tradition of Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, this is the story of a boy with extraordinary scientific abilities and unusual ties to the sea. Join Eli as he dives into the Sargasso Sea and meets the mysterious Golden Age hero Commander X. Featuring pin-ups by comics greats Steve Rude, Herb Trimpe and Howard Chaykin. Cover by Steve Rude.
6×9, 104 Pages, Full Color

The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli — Volume 2
Stand by for adventure! Volume 2 of The Undersea Adventures of Capt’n Eli explodes with action as the mysterious Commander X introduces Capt’n Eli to a world of vast undersea empires. For all ages, this issue is a tribute to the Silver Age of comics and is an imaginative blend of solid comics storytelling and 3-D CGI. Featuring pin-ups by legendary comics artist Herb Trimpe, Joe Zierman of Big Bang Comics, and artist and animator Lauren Monardo. Cover by Joe Zierman.
6×9, 112 Pages, Full Color

Want to learn more about the line?

Visit www.captneli.com
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaptnEli
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaptnEli

Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*