Live Stream of Asteroid 2012 DA14 Flyby

Live stream videos at Ustream

Am I the only one who’s remembering “Night of the Comet” over this? :P

From NASA:

NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named 2012 DA14. NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

The half-hour broadcast from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 11:25 a.m. PST (2:25 p.m. EST / 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface. The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at: * http://www.nasa.gov/ntv * and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2.

This past November, Two NASA astronomers suggested that the size and location of an asteroid belt, shaped by the evolution of the sun’s planet-forming disk and by the gravitational influence of a nearby giant Jupiter-like planet, may determine whether complex life will evolve on an Earth-like planet.

 

You can read more about tomorrow’s near miss at NASA’s website here: http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2013/02/ecoalert-nasa-will-livestream-asteroid-flyby-this-friday.html

 

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>